Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
714 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many keep one handy? What's in it? Generic or custom?
I'm the quintessential boy scout and usually go overboard with most things I do...the first-aid kit is no exception.
Mine is a combination first-aid/emergency/survival kit. Since I'm a woodworker and am constantly around sharp, rapidly moving metal AND a camper who likes the wilderness AND live close to the Delaware coastline (hurricanes), I keep a large plastic toolbox with everything I could cram into it, "just in case"
It has "Quick Clot" which is a clotting powder used by the military medics to stop arterial bleeding, an assortment of disinfectants, bandages, splints, eye wash, assorted antibiotics, etc, etc.
The kit also has fresh water, signaling miorrors, shakeable flashlight, emergency radio, etc, etc
I even came upon a small kit called "Denta-Medic" for the temporary repair of a lost filling. Hey, who wants to cut a camping trip short just because you loose a filling?
Anyway, this kit is kept in the truck at all times. If I'm working on a jobsite with someone else, they are told about it. It has come in handy more than once but fortunately, nothing severe.
That's my first-aid kit gloat. Anyone else?

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
A roll of paper towels and tape, seriously. I have been thinking about getting one of those prepackaged kits, just haven't done it yet. I will shortly though, I promise.

·
Registered
714 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, I see the big ol' fire extinguisher to "save your stuff" but nothing to "save your life".
:eek:

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
Yeah, I see the big ol' fire extinguisher to "save your stuff" but nothing to "save your life".
:eek:
I wondered if anyone would put two and two together.:laughing: I just bought the fire extinguisher a month ago. I mostly bought it in case I had a fire on the job to keep from using my general liability ins.