Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Carpenter & Joiner
254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Once more I am the master of being in over my head. I have to fit kitchen worktops/counters tomorrow morning and I've never done it before in my life! I just want some pointers if it's not too much trouble!

One day I won't be the idiot seeking help but the guy giving it lol

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
Once more I am the master of being in over my head. I have to fit kitchen worktops/counters tomorrow morning and I've never done it before in my life! I just want some pointers if it's not too much trouble!

One day I won't be the idiot seeking help but the guy giving it lol
What are the tops?

·
Carpenter & Joiner
254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ah thanks! My final concern is that the worktops are going into an 18th century old English cottage... the walls are as straight as a penny. I'm not entirely sure how to mark those out...

·
Registered
1,400 Posts
Your 1st concern ought to be the cabinets being as level as perfect. Last year I remodeled our 125 year old home's kitchen and the kitchen now occupies 3 separate structures - the original very small kitchen, and added pantry and an attached barn. To make a long story short, I started by installing a new sub floor because the original 3 structure match had such a serious mismatched flooring situation, I ended with a slightly noticeable roll in the final floor (noticeable to me).