Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
Obviously new here, and wasn't sure where to make this post.
(I typically find myself on recipe and crafting boards).
That being said, a Google search led me here.
My husband is a aircraft mechanic by trade but woodworking is where his heart is.
About a year ago as he was building out my pantry shelves, he mentioned in passing that having a router table would be nice as I chose a rather pretty profile for the edges. (Pics attached of what he did for me)
Fast forward, I have been saving my pennies for a table for him, but have no idea where to go from here. (Truth be told, I had no idea such a thing existed)
I have read countless "best router table" type reviews and my head is spinning.
He has a large shop so space isn't an issue. I'd like to keep it around 1,000.00 if possible.
Any direction you all can provide would really be great. Thanks
(Apologies, as I know this isn't the right thread for such a question, so any guidance where I should post this is appreciated)
Woodworker wife

Attachments

·
Registered
430 Posts
I think it's great that you want to spend that much on him. A grand should buy a nice setup. I'm not a knowledgeable person with this, but hold tight and I'm sure some experienced person on here will chime in. I'm sure he will get a fabulous gift.

·
Mike
201 Posts
Welcome to the forum!
A router table can take many forms. From a piece of wood with a board clamped on for a fence to an elaborate cabinet.
What he want's/need's can fall anywhere in between.
I would suggest buying a large variable speed router that is well suited for a table and let him make up his own mind what he wants to put it in.
I had several different set up's before I finally built a router cabinet.
Also, I would ask him exactly what he wants. Tools can be very personal. What I like he may not care for.

·
Registered
5,056 Posts