Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
LJ
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello gracious woodworkers,
I represent the very bottom of the Woodworkers hierarchy. Not only do I have no significant experience, but I am also a procrastinator.

A few years back, I took a position as a grounds keeper at a residence in Philadelphia suburbs. A real cushy gig. I get the carriage-house apartment and one (of 3) garage spaces below.

Long story short, I have this nice little workshop to use. Woodworking is something that has been calling to me. This siren song coming in moments as menial as needing to put up a shelf ... and as wonderful as seeing fine woodwork in the homes of my private chef clients (wealthy "mainliners" ). Also thumbing through George Nakashima's book at a friends house.

What I wanted to ask here at the dawning of my attempt to become something of a woodworker is these questions:
1. Recommended books for beginners?
2. Is taking a class really worth it? They seems so expensive all be it understandable to cover materials cost. (I am but a humble chef with not much disposable income)
3. Join a coop? there are a few community wood-shops, has anyone ever been part of this sort of thing? I may have the space, but I have only basic tools including a banned saw, drill press, radial arm saw, and some random hand tools.

Ok, well thanks!

·
7,222 Posts
What I wanted to ask here at the dawning of my attempt to become something of a woodworker is these questions:
1. Recommended books for beginners?
2. Is taking a class really worth it? They seems so expensive all be it understandable to cover materials cost. (I am but a humble chef with not much disposable income)
3. Join a coop? there are a few community wood-shops, has anyone ever been part of this sort of thing? I may have the space, but I have only basic tools including a banned saw, drill press, radial arm saw, and some random hand tools.

Ok, well thanks!