Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Andrew Close
280 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i want to be a woodworker. or, maybe i should say, i am an aspiring woodworker. :thumbsup: but i don't have any wood, yet.
i typically buy wood for the projects i work on and have very little left over sitting around. but if i was to start stocking a bit of wood, how would i, should i, store it? and where?
my shop is in my detached 2.5 car garage. it isn't insulated or heated. i live about 45 minutes west of Chicago, so the weather, climate, varies greatly by the season. moisture content could be an issue.
so, my mentors, what are your thoughts? do i start stocking wood and come up with some storage system in my gara.., err, shop? do i try to carve out some space in the basement which would have a little more stable climate, but still may not be 'dry'? or do i just continue to buy wood on a project by project basis? which isn't really a problem, but you don't always get the best buy doing that. and then you don't have any scrap/leftovers laying around when that moment of inspiration/need for practice comes around. :smile:

·
Registered
2,276 Posts