Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I am somewhat new to fine woodworking and looking for some advice on my board selection. I know that I want to use maple. I have used this in the past for a butcher block in my kitchen. The shades of the wood are pretty close, at least they were in the store. When I got them home, they appear to be very different. I will be making a coffee table and I am not sure that the top will look uniform if the board are different. I guess the question is, how much does stain/dye help to match dissimilar colors? I presume it will not at all.

I have rotated and flipped these a bunch of times and cannot get a solid match

Should I exchange for ones that are closer? What are you opinions?

·
Registered
470 Posts
Attempting to match one with another with stains and dyes is a life time learning process and each situation is usually unique with some species compounding this more than others. If matching is important to you return the undesirables. Keep plenty of scrap ends to test stains and finishes on.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Attempting to match one with another with stains and dyes is a life time learning process and each situation is usually unique with some species compounding this more than others. If matching is important to you return the undesirables. Keep plenty of scrap ends to test stains and finishes on.

Thanks, I returned one and they match up pretty well. My wife's uncle is pretty seasoned so next step to get some in person assistance running 'em through the jointer.

What do the pro's prefer for joining method, biscuits or dowells? Or is that the age old question?

·
Registered
470 Posts
Thanks, I returned one and they match up pretty well. My wife's uncle is pretty seasoned so next step to get some in person assistance running 'em through the jointer.