Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a couple of those large wire spools that I am turning into tables. On the underside there is that 1.5" circle where the wood slats go. I am planning on making this the top.
What are some options to fill that with? I know epoxy is one. Are there cheaper options, something similar to grout that will flex with the wood?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Just to be clear I'm talking about the large circle like the one in this pic I pulled from the web. I just want that to be flush with the rest of the table.

I'm pretty new to woodworking and don't have a ton of experience so any thoughts or suggestions are much appreciated.

·
Registered
2,775 Posts
Load all the gaps with interesting bits like beads, stones, nuts & bolts. Fill to the brim with fiberglas methacrylate boat resin.

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
I guess it depends on what you'll do with the final design. If you're going to paint it then I'd make a circle of plywood and sort of inlay it in there. If you want to keep it visible through glass like the pic you posted, perhaps plug the small holes with something decorative and pour a layer of liquid plastic over it all..

·
Registered
1,400 Posts
Go with cabinetman's original post - plug it. Simply try to find matching wood that will blend in with the grain of the existing wood, cut a circle just slightly larger and sand the bottom slightly smaller. The trick is to leave the plug sticking out just a bit and glue it in. You can then take a hand plane and smooth the top.

You said you're new to woodworking and I assume you have very few tools. All you need for your project is a hand drill and a circle cutter for the drill. They're not expensive. The only obstacle is the circle cutter will leave a center hole which can be filled with a dowel.

·
Registered
305 Posts
You can tint a light colored bondo to most any color you want.

·
Registered
6 Posts