Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Michael G
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still new to using hand planes, but I've finally got to the point where I have my No.5 plane in decent working order, with a good, sharp blade. But I find that every time I plane an edge, I pretty consistently end up taking more wood off the far edge of the board. Then I end up having to spend time on the closer edge to bring it down to match the far edge, which I find really difficult. Most recently, I've been working with hard maple about 1" thick, held in a small vise. I'm guessing it's got something to do with applying uneven pressure on the work piece. Has anyone else had this problem and if so, how did you overcome it?

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
I'm not really new ... just don't use them as much. I'm getting more and more into it, though. In my understanding, sounds like you're keeping too much pressure on the forward "knob." When you get the full length of the plane on the wood, most of your pressure should be on the rear handle.

·
Registered
162 Posts
It also helps to gently lift the front edge as you leave the board. Otherwise it dips and the blade cuts deeper.

When I was restoring the old planes I inherited I would put scrap wood in my bench vice and just plane it down to nothing, or turn a 2x round. There is more technique involved than it looks like.

·
where's my table saw?
28,591 Posts