Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am a newbie here and to woodcrafting. I am wondering how to buy wood\lumber at wholesale prices? Where do you get your lumber and do you get it at a discount or wholesale?

I am hoping to avoid paying retail for my lumber.

Thanks in advance,
Terry

·
Registered
4,690 Posts
Welcome Terry. If you are new to woodworking, it's my opinion you should learn all you can about wood and it's properties before you start just looking at prices. You get what you pay for in most cases, you have to know the difference between $2 bft wood and $4 bft...not just what the price tag says.

You mentioned terms like wholesale and retail, 1000 bft will get you a wholesale discount most places ;). Maybe not your best avenue. Learn what you can about wood, who has it, current market prices...and keep your eyes peeled for lumber cheaper than what it is really worth (guys get lucky all the time). Good luck.

·
Senior Member Grandpa
349 Posts
You will get as many different answers as there are posters with that question. I usually purchase my wood at the mill but have also taken them logs of my own to saw. I have purchased from estates where the woodworker had died and nobody else wanted the wood or tools. There are many different ways of getting wood. I watch the local classifieds as we have a large number of people who will get lumber sawed for a certain project and sell their leftover stack when the project is done.

·
Senior Member Grandpa
349 Posts
Alot of times theyare begging for someone to come and get the tools and lumber. I bought a shop of tools a couple of years ago and didn't really want the lumber. They kept calling and last year I went back and bought the lumber. Got some really nice 1x8x8 walnut in that lot!!

·
Registered
336 Posts