Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered Text Offender
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all. New here, but I've read posts before. I did some searching on Google and here (as well as some other forums), but I can't seem to find a solution to this issue...or another issue like it.

My cabinets are knotty alder that has been stained fairly dark. Chocolate color or thereabouts. I'm not sure what type of stain was used or the top coat type. I had the house built about 2.5 years ago.

So, here's the issue. I'm getting white scratch marks very easily all over my cabinets. Finger nails, small bumps, and utensils can scratch the cabinets and leave a white mark. These are not wiping off with water and don't sand off, either. I'm not a finish expert, and truth be told, I'm not even an amateur.

Below is a picture of what I'm talking about. I did that scratch with my fingernail and it didn't take much pressure. Like I said, it won't sand off, either. It's almost like it goes through the top coat, but I'm not sure.

I'd really appreciate some help here...not only recommendations or ideas on getting rid of them, but ways I can prevent it from happening. If that means applying a new top coat to all the cabinets in my house (there sure are a lot of them), then I'm fine with that. Obviously the cheap stuff at Lowe's and Home Depot don't cut it and I know that. But I don't have many specialty stores around here. The nearest Woodcraft, for example, is 2 hours away. I don't mind driving there if I know what I'm looking for.

Anyway, hope you guys can help. Let me know if you need any more pictures.

·
Registered
64 Posts
It seems that you might have a failed finish. It is very soft and scratches very easily. I would find out what the painter or wood finisher used. I don't feel that another coat is going to solve the underlying problem. I think it is imperative that you find out what the finish schedule was for your cabinets.

·
Registered Text Offender