Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an unfinished desk that I would like to finish for my daughter. The furniture in her room is white. I thought about paint, but I don't want the thickness of the layers to cause problems with sticking drawers, etc.

Would white stain work? What kind? How many coats?

I've painted furniture in the past, but I'd really like a quality result this time.

Your advice is much appreciated.
Thanks,
Doug

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
Welcome to the site Doug.
I am not a pro at finishing yet so I can't recommend any good ideas.
You might check websites like Minwax or Valspar. I know Valspar has a mix your own stain program but I haven't checked into it yet.
Sorry I couldn't be more help, maybe one of the experts on the subject will give you some better advice.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh yeah, I'd prefer an opaque finish. Don't want to see wood grain through the stain. Would paint be better? Is it possible to thin down the paint and use 2 or 3 coats to cover?

Thanks for the Minwax and Valspar recommendations. I'll check them out. I also plan to stop by Lowes on my way home today to see what they have.

Thanks,
Doug

·
Registered
135 Posts
I like to use tinted lacquer. If you dont have a sprayer then you can get what they call pickled stain, which is white. This will leave the grain showing. Or if you want the wood to show, nothing beets a few coats of poly.

·
Registered
1 Posts
A white desk is such a popular item and having one inside your office will have many benefits. A desk is obviously a necessity in an office setting but did you know that the color of desk that you decide on can have different results? In this article we will discuss the benefits of having white desks inside your office.