Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been looking at local classifieds for months and have yet to find a decent used table saw. I've decided I'm just going to buy a new one. I've been looking at the Rigid R4512, Grizzly G7015P, and the new Delta saw at Lowe's model 36-725. I do not have a 220v outlet in my garage. I am a beginning woodworker - I have built a few projects including a king sized bed (I used a friend's cabinet saw for that one). I want a saw that will get me by for a few years until I have a better shop situation. Which saw would you choose and why? I am mostly interested in building furniture for my home.

·
Registered
5,445 Posts
After using your buddy's cabinet saw, some of these might seem a little light. The new Delta is brand new and is an unknown to most of us.....could be great, could have warts. If their return policy is good and you can swing a deal, we'd all appreciate the feedback! ;)

The R4512 and 21833 have had some chronic alignment problems....if you can get a good one (not all are effected), it could be a good purchase. The G0715P has a similar design and had similar issues, but they've allegedly solved the issue...has a better fence, solid cast wings, and a full enclosure.

If you post your location, someone here might know of a good deal on a used saw for you.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
After using your buddy's cabinet saw, some of these might seem a little light. The new Delta is brand new and is an unknown to most of us.....could be great, could have warts. If their return policy is good and you can swing a deal, we'd all appreciate the feedback! ;)

The R4512 and 21833 have had some chronic alignment problems....if you can get a good one (not all are effected), it could be a good purchase. The G0715P has a similar design and had similar issues, but they've allegedly solved the issue...has a better fence, solid cast wings, and a full enclosure.