Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to buy a compound miter saw. Many models are available and I'd like to know what I can do without to save some $$.

I'm a weekend woodworker - bookshelves, storage chests, laundry shoot, etc.

So, options are 8.5 10 or 12 inch blades, single or double bevels. I will get a sliding model so I can cut larger pieces. But what about the blade size and single or double bevel?

I have a very nice table saw.

Thanks

·
woodbutcherer
610 Posts
You really should go to a tool store and play with a few to see which one best fits your needs. I would tell you to get the one like I have because it is the best (Makita-LS1016L). Makita makes a 12 inch version that has a 15 inch crosscut capacity also (Makita-LS1216L. Other people like the dewalts which I do not like because I cut most of my lumber in a chop motion (back to front) to keep the top of the wood from fraying and the dewalt frays close to the fence due to how far forward the blade is positioned. Bosch has a new concept out that has an articulated are instead of the slides (Bosch-GCM12SD). This would be great for space savings.
Ten inch should be good for your needs as most are designed to cut taller base and crown than even 5 years ago. There are cheaper options too, but it always seems you sacrifice cut quality for the lower price.

·
RAM Man
742 Posts
If accuracy is important to you then stay away from the bargain basement sliders like the Harbor Freight type under $200 saws. Many of the 10" sliders have almost as much cutting capacity as the 12"ers and blade defection isn't an issue with the 10"ers either so I'd recommend that route. Saws like the Makita LS1016 and LS1013 consistently receive high marks from their owners as do the DeWalt's. Other brands that seem to receive positive reviews are Bosch and Hitachi.

·
Registered
12,531 Posts