Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

This one is pretty out there. I am a tech guy, and I am thinking about building my own personal computer. I was thinking about what type of material I would need. Then I thought... Hey! Why not wood?

First, I need a wood that will not bend and bow much with temp changes. A laptop in use gets hot, and then cools again when it is not in use.

I need a wood that is strong even when thin. If it is dropped, it needs to not crack and protect the insides.

I need a wood that I can modify easily. I will be drilling several screw holes, making gaps for ports, etc.

Any suggestions on the type?

Thanks,

ProgrammerOfWood

·
Registered
305 Posts
As a novelty, I totally get this.

OTOH, there are reasons this isn't done commercially. You nailed some of the challenges in your question.

·
Registered
175 Posts
As a novelty, I totally get this.

OTOH, there are reasons this isn't done commercially. You nailed some of the challenges in your question.
I think a big reason wood isn't used by the industry is: 1) price - cheaper to stamp out plastic by a LONG shot 2) weight - wood is going to be heavier 3) durability - for wood to be as durable as the materials used in a laptop case, the wood would have to be much thicker, bumping in to reason #2

There's more reasons, but I think as far as the industry is concern, cost alone is a mitigating factor for wood's potential.

To the OP:
I think there are a lot of challenges to making this work. Namely the strength-to-weight issue. If you want a 1/16th piece of wood, it doesn't matter what kind it is, it's going to break easily. You probably wouldn't get away with making any part of it less than 1/8" thick. Another issue I see is attaching parts. You aren't going to be able to thread the wood to reliably hold tight all those tiny screws, so you would have to epoxy in place tons of tiny threaded pieces.