Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there guys.

So I am planning on making an Armoire, in the style of the attached picture, for my bedroom. I have all the plans already drawn up and the cutlist laid out. However, I am having trouble deciding what types of hardwood to choose for this project, in order to achieve the same light brown/dark brown color scheme. My idea was to use American Walnut for the entire project and to achieve the contrast on the door panels by using the sapwood portion of the burl veneer for the outer segment while I use the heartwood portion for the inner, darker segment.

The problem here is, that i have never worked with Walnut burl veneer before, so I have no reference on how dark their sapwood is. In tradeschool, we learned that sliced veneers are made from steamed wood, which darkens their sapwood, especially that of American walnut, so I was hoping that the color of the sapwood veneer would roughly match up with the non steamed heartwood frame of the door.

What are your thoughts on this issue and how would you go about achieving the color pattern in the picture, without using stains?

Attachments

·
where's my table saw?
27,880 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Selecting the correct veneer isn't really a problem for me, since I am buying from one of the largest European retailers, where you can see detailed pictures of the specific veneers that you are about to buy on their website. What I am looking for is feedback on my material selection. I am a cabinetmaker by trade, yet i have never worked with walnut burl, so I have no idea how its sapwood looks after finishing etc. But somebody should surely have experience with that, especially on how much it differs from the look of normal heartwood.

My fear is, that with my selection, the sapwood portion is going to be far too bright and contrast too much with the frame of the door. Any advice on that?

·
Registered