Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I prepare for a future woodshop, I have had to cut down some trees. (Oak, Hickory, Maple)
First off I am a novice at working with wood and as I prepare to go at some projects for fun, I have a question about turning bowls.

I have stacked logs off to the side and I also have some nice pieces that are rough cut to 16” long. How should I store these pieces so I can start to turn bowls. I have seen some videos of people turning green wood down to a rough dimension and seal it to store for drying. I can take some pics if that would help. Just looking for advice on preparing to turn.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Some hickory

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Some Oak

·
Registered
3,498 Posts
I cut mine into the sizes I think I’ll use later on and then I wax the ends with paraffin - then wait...

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I cut mine into the sizes I think I’ll use later on and then I wax the ends with paraffin - then wait...
Wait about a year?

·
Premium Member
4,822 Posts
Use some kind of paint or wax to seal the ends. I used to use the same coating as used on mobile home roofs. This painting of the ends slows down the moisture leaving the logs which causes splitting.