Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a vintage craftsman table saw that doesn't have a rip fence. It's getting old aligning and clamping a big level on it, plus not too safe. I'd get a new saw but one with the solidness of what I have with this one is out of my range plus I'd probably want to put a better fence on a cheaper saw anyway.

I'm leaning towards a vega pro 40 setup but I have no first hand knowledge of their worth. I've been researching and comparing, but nothing beats first hand knowledge so I thought I'd ask.

Is there another rip system in this price range that I should be looking at? I've looked at accusquare, very cool tools, incra and the biesemeyer. By looked at, I mean just read about online.

More towards the lower price is better. The biesemeyer I consider too high for my budget as well as the incra.

Any info is appreciated!

Thanks

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Toolbarn.com lists one in stock.

Should show 0 now. Now for the waiting game. lol I need to seek help I think. They give you $15 off for signing up email, but only on over $200. Sooo look around for stuff to add up to $200 but on the plus side you get free shipping if over $200.

Thanks for the tip though.

·
Registered
2,644 Posts
Since you mentioned the Vega, here is my old saw with the Pro40 attached. It worked great. I don't think you would be dissatisfied.
Mike

OOPS! Guess I was too late.

Attachments

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Since you mentioned the Vega, here is my old saw with the Pro40 attached. It worked great. I don't think you would be dissatisfied.
Mike

OOPS! Guess I was too late.
You never know about being too late. It hasn't shipped yet and it being the last one without even amazon having one, it might be a return so I'm going to look it over good when I get it.

That 40 looks huge on your saw. I might have been running into things in my little work area! LOL

·