Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I currently have a DW735 benchtop planer and as I get more into working with hard woods (I am a near beginner), I am finding the limitations of this tool. It's still good for shorter pieces of wood, but struggles with feeding longer and heavier pieces. I am looking to upgrade to a 15" planer. Price range would be up to $2000. This gets me up to the Powermatic with spiral cutter head. Others I am considering are the Delta due to its folding infeed and outfeed tables to save space and the new Grizzly 15" extreme with spiral cutter.

Help!

I can see plenty of reviews on the Delta and Powermatic on Amazon, but nothing on the Grizzly, and I am really interested in this. It goes for around $1700 plus shipping. The Delta has the advantage of the folding tables to save space, but I am not crazy about the top mounted motor and open base.

Second question. I shop at Woodcraft and noticed they have dropped Delta Power Equipment. Anyone know why? I have the Delta X5 Cabinet Saw and love it. What a difference from my Sears contractor table saw that is around 10 years old. So much more power and accuracy.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Walt I'm not sure why they dropped delta. Probably some friction with their hip level attatchment to Jet/PM. I just bought a new Delta X5 with 30" Biesemeyer at your woodcraft in Robinson, and they had to order it in. They said they still have a weekly Delta delivery. But if you go to their website, Delta is a ghost. I'm not quite sure whats up.