Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to working with wood. I am refinishing an antique table and chairs. I've read that I need wood filler or grain filler (I don't remember which), I don't know the difference. Can anyone help me please.

·
where's my table saw?
28,742 Posts
self defining, sorta

Grain filler is a paste that you wipe on, let set a bit then wipe off and fills only the tiny pores of the grain. It helps the stain even out and look more uniform.

A wood filler is a putty that is used to fill gaps and missing material in larger areas. Wood filler does not stain the same color and value as the surrounding wood in general.

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
I am new to working with wood. I am refinishing an antique table and chairs. I've read that I need wood filler or grain filler (I don't remember which), I don't know the difference. Can anyone help me please.
"Grain filler" is also called "paste wood filler". It's available in both waterbase and solvent base. It does just that...fill the grain. It is available in a "natural", or in colors, or can be tinted.

For filling holes per se, a wood putty is used. It's different than a grain filler in its consistency. It's used for larger voids in the surface than just filling the grain. For whichever you use, follow the label directions for the specific product.

·
Registered
12,988 Posts
When using grain filler I prefer to take off the excess with a wide blade "putty knife." I feel that the soft cloth used in wiping removes material below the top of the wood level.

George

·
Registered
187 Posts
wood filler /wood putty