Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Wood Snob
5,963 Posts
I'm no expert but I have three I use regularly. My advise to you is to shy away from the non Japanese pull saws. They are a pour copy. I have a combination rip crosscut I use a lot. Sorry to say I can't give you a source because I picked up the saw about 10 years ago.

Al

Friends don't let friends use stamped metal tools sold at clothing stores.

·
Registered
1,533 Posts
You'll probably get better quality from an actual Japanese made saw, but I've been quite happy with my Shark brand ryoba. The one real downside I've seen to it is that the teeth are hardened, which means they can't be resharpened. If you're willing to accept that, they run about $20-25. I wrote a review of it here.

·
recently retired
174 Posts
I've used a lot of Japanese pull saws over the years, Japanese saws are much harder to learn to use correctly than western saws. Here is what has been my experience,

The two main suppliers are the ones mentioned, Japan woodworker and Hida Tools. Hida Tools are a much high quality saw but the price is much higher as well. The cheap saws do not cut to a line. If you are really good you can make them work to a degree, if you are just starting you are asking for a good deal of frustration.

The machine made saws at around $90 or so are hardened at the teeth only and while these saws dull more quickly than handmade they are a good starter saw for someone serious about saws. The reason being is that with a handmade saw which is fully tempered if you kink the saw on the push stroke the saw will snap. Until you become proficient with the saw do not buy fully handmade, I know I've snapped over $1000 worth of saws over the years.

Why buy a handmade saw? Until you have cut with a handmade saw, Around $275-$300, you do not know how well, fast or accurate a saw can cut. These are saws to work up to- takes 3 to 5 years depending on frequency of use.

·
Registered
1,533 Posts