Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,514 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
And what would that be compared to today’s economy?

I was looking at old planes on eBay and saw some Bedrock 605 in pristine condition selling for over $200 or even over $300. It occurred to me that might be a couple of days wages at today’s average pay according to money.usnews.com for a carpenter and I was just wondering if a Carpenter back then would pay that much for a Plane.

When I first started out as an apprentice Carpenter, I believe I paid 4 or maybe 5 days wages for my Old Rockwell Circular Saw in '68, but I was just starting out.

·
Registered
1,874 Posts
Here is an excerpt from a document on the United Brotherhood of Carpenters web page.

https://www.carpenters.org/todays_ubc_top_nav/History_copy1/1881-1900_copy1.aspx

McGuire recognized the potential effects of a new way of working. His insights and observations about the trade were based on experiences on the job. In January 1881, he wrote a letter to a friend describing his current job, building a self-supporting roof 120 feet in the air in “arctic weather.” Work was hard to come by, and he did not complain: “I keep the job because it will last until summer and is $2.50 per day of nine hours.”

·
Registered
5,514 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Wow that's Incredible and after seeing that, I just remembered that I had an old Sears and Roebuck catalog from the early 40s I think. It would be cool to check that out as well.
Anyway thanks trc65.

·
Registered
5,514 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Here is an excerpt from a document on the United Brotherhood of Carpenters web page.

https://www.carpenters.org/todays_ubc_top_nav/History_copy1/1881-1900_copy1.aspx