Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I’m pretty new to woodworking and don’t have a huge budget. I have a drill but it’s a pretty cheap one and I don’t have an impact driver. What should I get? Preferably brushless, as I have used brushless drills before and much prefer them to brushed, but budget may not allow. I’m not as concerned with battery compatibility, as most of my other tools are corded anyway.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Do you have a project in mind that you need a better drill for? Does it need to be new? I'm a fan of used tools personally. Mainly because Im just learning. Also I'm able to get far higher quality tools used than my budget would allow new.

·
Registered
12,588 Posts
Did you check prices of impact drivers before posting this? The most expensive 1/2"cordless impact driver at Lowes, a Bosch, is only $159.99. There are several priced below this that are also good drivers. Dewalt $149.99.

Amazon is even cheaper.

George

·
Registered
85 Posts
Just a word about battery size. I got a Dewalt 12v set several years ago and have found them to be a good convenient light weight size. Both the drill and impact driver have always done what I needed them to do and I don't see the need for anything larger. However, I am a hobby woodworker/homeowner. I do not use these tools consistently all day long.

·
Registered
12,588 Posts
Just a word about battery size. I got a Dewalt 12v set several years ago and have found them to be a good convenient light weight size. Both the drill and impact driver have always done what I needed them to do and I don't see the need for anything larger. However, I am a hobby woodworker/homeowner. I do not use these tools consistently all day long.

I agree with you on using the lighter weight tools. I have the Craftsman NexTec 12 volt and use it almost exclusively. I seldom take out the 20 volt.

George

·
Registered
334 Posts