Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, new here and just posted an introduction. I am new to woodworking and have made a small sofa end table. I know its not great, i am just starting out. I shop for lumber at lowes and have a hard time finding good stock to pick from, and sometimes even when my cuts are accurate, i notice that the table top is not flush with one another. I know that the stock isnt uniform, i am just curious how i can make this more presentable and flat so that when i put things on it it doesnt look ghetto. I bought a Porter cable electric hand plane and took a pretty nasty gouge out of the wood at the end of the board on some scrap, is that the best way? or a good orbital sander and start with coarse sand paper and then finish? Any advice is appreciated. The plane is like 3 hours old so i can return it.

Attachments

·
Registered
197 Posts
return the electric plane.... That's used more for doors, cabinets etc where you need to shave a small portion off due to an uneven surface like a wall, floor etc fit them... You would be better off spending your money on a orbital sander and a belt sander....

I don't mean to be offensive, but your joints are pretty bad.... How did you join the pieces of wood together? I would recommend dowels or biscuits. You can get a dowel jig really inexpensive and it works great.

Here is where I would start...

Grizzly G1874 Improved Dowel Jig - Amazon.com

It centers it in the piece of wood and makes it pretty darn simple to join boards together.

Here is a video on its use.

If you can give more info on how you joined the top together we could help give you advice on how you can improve your current process.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3