Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to forum and have a question. I have been doing hobby woodworking for 20 years or so and can cobble together some decent projects on occasion but this one has me wondering.

A friend wants me to repair this dining room table they had custom built a number of years ago. As you can see by the pictures, the "builder" used blocks of walnut about 4" square glued into the field of the table. All the glue joints have now failed due to expansion and contraction. Ant ideas on how to approach making this table look presentable again? Any and all suggestions welcomed.

Attachments

·
Forgotten but not gone
5,674 Posts
I don't have any idea how you would go about repairing it. Maybe "masking" by routing out the glue joints (using a router with downcut spiral bit along a straightedge; you'll need a vacuum attached to remove the dust being forced into the groove) and then refilling with a anything from fine grout, to died epoxy, and then sealing it with a 2 part epoxy flood coat. You could use one of many techniques discussed on this forum to change the natural high gloss sheen of the epoxy to something satin so it doesn't look so plastic-y.

The problem may have developed for a number of reasons. Do you have any idea what kind of environment the table saw? If it was left outside or saw high humidity somehow and then exposed to low humidity the end grain cookies had no chance of doing anything but what they did.

That design is rooted from cordwood construction and could even be called a faux cordwood look. My wife and I experimented with making indoor cordwood paneling a few years ago and we actually both like it. We used eastern red cedar but we used the natural round end grain slices - IOW didn't square them as the builder of that table did. We filled the gaps with cream-colored epoxy.