Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I could really use some suggestions on a finish for my almost finished dining room table. This is my first project of this size so I welcome all criticism as I am looking to learn.
Where I am:
The tabletop is made from a walnut tree that was cut down locally from storm damage, "solar kiln" dried for a year and air dried for another year, as you can see it has some very intense figuring, but this was the look my SO was looking to get. The finish I used here was an amber shellac base coat to bring out some of the beautiful colors, many coats of Aqua Coat grain filler and topped with 3 coats of general finishes Enduro Conversion 2K Varnish (Satin) applied with an HVLP sprayer. I am generally happy with how it looks and I really hope all the additional measures I had to take to use the conversion varnish prove useful in durability.

The question:
I am now looking to finish the table base/skirt, its all kiln dried black walnut from a local lumberyard and has significantly less figuring and is pretty solid in color and tone. I really don't think a film forming finish like the 2k varnish is the best option for the base as I will not be filling in the grain (it seems it would be way to tedious to do well on all the angles) and could just make it more prone to the film being damaged, but I could be convinced otherwise. I came across rubio monocoat (Rubio Monocoat) but for the life of me can’t figure out if it is just a very well-advertised gimmick or the real deal. Does anyone have any experience working with it? Do you think it would be a good option for the base? In general, I would like something that is either "satin" or lower in sheen; HVLP sprayed would be great but am not opposed to a wipe on application. Some other finishes I've had experience with include,
Arm-R-Seal (seems it may really yellow the walnut)