Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So for valentines day my wife has ask for a built in cabinet for our bathroom above the "throne." Apparently she is tired of the "HONEY BRING ME SOME MORE TP" I spew about once a week across the house.

Anyways this is my first attempt at anything that will not sit in the floor or weigh less than a few pounds. This cabinet is roughly going to be made out of 3/4 paint grade plywood, with two raised panel doors. Approx weight is roughly 65-80lbs, according to my home scales. Will then be trimmed out to look like it is a built in. Below is a pic of a very rough fit before I proceeded further.

The question I have is what is the best way and safest way to mount this to the wall. I just did the old knock and listen check and there appears to be a stud in each corner and one in the middle. The opening is 34.5" wide, so that would be about right if the studs are roughly 16" wide. So is the best way to mark where the studs are and just used 2.5" screws or so, and drill a few in each stud?? Or would it be safer to use a wall anchor of some sort. Or even run some 3/4 strips behind and screw to that?? I am really a novice at this, and have small kids in the house, and worry about the falling aspect of this.

Anybody got an opinion or experience in this? thanks!!

Attachments

·
Registered
12,942 Posts
Just screw to the studs. All the other ways you thought of also used the studs. They just used an intermediate step and were therefore provided less strength.

George

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
From your picture, if that's the height you are intending to install the cabinet, it looks too high to be accessible. I would use a studfinder or a big finish nail and find the center of the studs. Once you do that, measure over from one edge where they align on the back of the cabinet, and drill a pilot hole from the inside of the cabinet to line up with the center of the studs.