Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am not new to woodworking but I am new to veneering. I am also and old-car guy, and I am mostly into British roadsters which have wood veneer dashboards. I would like to redo my dash in my '76 TR6 and I have a lot of questions about how best to do it on an auto. I've done a lot of reading (Joe Woodworker is an amazing site for veneering) but the environment for a car dash is completely different from what I might expect for a piece of furniture, which will remain in a (relatively) stable environment.

A car dash will obviously need to hold up to extreme humidity and temperature swings, as well as sunlight.

What do you all recommend for:

1. Veneer glue? Anything other than the usual cold press/Better Bond, or do I need to move up to a PPR?
2. Edge banding - any watchouts?
3. Finishing - obviously anything I use would need a durable UV protectant aspect to it. I'd also like the option of a satin or glossy finish. I plan on doing more than one dash to see what I like best, and I'd like the option of using some sort of a tung-oil based finish to make the grain pop (I want to try sapele and waterfall bubinga veneers) with maybe a UV-coat varnish over it. Is this advisable?

That's all I can think of for now. Thank you for your help!
Darel

·
Chairman of the 'Board
285 Posts
Awesome car and 1976 was the last year it was built. Hopefully you have the original Zenith Stromberg carbs and not the popular Weber conversion. Also, be careful of engine parts. They changed the head significantly in 72 or 73(?) to stop head gaskets from blowing so easily. Your eyeball will miss the differences between old and new, so rely on serial numbers.