Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased some steel threaded inserts from Rockler.com. I've never used them before and needed some screw down knobs in a jig I was building.

I drilled the recommended guide hole and you're supposed to use the screw driver slots on the top to screw them down into the hole in the wood.

My problem is they kept cantering off axis to the right on me, mainly because I'm right handed I figured. I couldn't see anyway to control stopping them from going off plumb or off perpendicular to the wood surface. Both my knobs lean to the right now. Ugh.

I was going through some hard maple and considered increasing the guide hole but was afraid I'd lose holding power.

Anyone know of a solution to using these? Is there a tool that helps you put these things in?

Any suggestions?

·
Registered
12 Posts
I recently purchased some steel threaded inserts from Rockler.com. I've never used them before and needed some screw down knobs in a jig I was building.

I drilled the recommended guide hole and you're supposed to use the screw driver slots on the top to screw them down into the hole in the wood.

My problem is they kept cantering off axis to the right on me, mainly because I'm right handed I figured. I couldn't see anyway to control stopping them from going off plumb or off perpendicular to the wood surface. Both my knobs lean to the right now. Ugh.

I was going through some hard maple and considered increasing the guide hole but was afraid I'd lose holding power.

Anyone know of a solution to using these? Is there a tool that helps you put these things in?

Any suggestions?
Use your drill press, chuck up a tool that fits the slot in the insert and apply light pressure downward towards your hole and turn the drill press quill by hand till you get it started good.

·
where's my table saw?
29,616 Posts
that's a good tip