Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I’m looking to attach one of those wireless charger pads for charging my phone onto the other end of a table top, so I would need to bore a circle underneath the table top and place the charging pad there.

I know that hole saws are used to make holes, but I’m looking to use it to make just an indentation as I do not want to make an actual hole. I know that a router is probably better but I do not have that tool.

I’m wondering if anyone can guide me on how to do this properly. Here is a YouTube video of someone doing this, but I’ve never worked with hole saws before and a video doesn’t tell a whole lot….

Need advice from the experts please!

·
Smart and Cool
1,947 Posts
Hi Everyone,

I’m looking to attach one of those wireless charger pads for charging my phone onto the other end of a table top, so I would need to bore a circle underneath the table top and place the charging pad there.

I know that hole saws are used to make holes, but I’m looking to use it to make just an indentation as I do not want to make an actual hole. I know that a router is probably better but I do not have that tool.

I’m wondering if anyone can guide me on how to do this properly. Here is a YouTube video of someone doing this, but I’ve never worked with hole saws before and a video doesn’t tell a whole lot….

Need advice from the experts please!
The video seems to guide you in their method.

I wouldn't do it that way, but in the absence of a router it looks like it would work.

·
Super Moderator
3,327 Posts
Bob - what tools do you have or have access to do something like this ?
is the top of the table removable or do you have a lot of room to do this ??
if there is room, I would use a hand-held router with a 3/4" bottom bit.
that would be very accurate and you could get down to where the wood
is 1/16 - 1/8" thick without the fear of breaking through the top.