Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Twokamprs
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner woodworker, but all my projects so far have been finished with 2 or 3 coats of brush-on polyurethane. Someone told me to try aerosol lacquer on my next project for a variety of reasons. So, I did. I made sure the surface was smooth and clean, applied the stain, then sprayed on 4 coats of glossy Watco lacquer and finished with a coat of satin. I tried my best to apply as thin a coat as possible each time. I'm not totally happy with the results. I feel slightly rough spots on the finish. I contacted Watco for help. I was told that I probably held the can too far from the surface and the spray was drying before it hit the wood creating a rough surface. She suggested I steel wool the project with 0000 grade wool, then start over holding the can a little closer. Before I do this, does anyone have any other suggestions? I don't have a sprayer, so I'm stuck with aerosol spray.

·
Registered
506 Posts
I usually spray from about 12" away. The surface should look wet as you spray. Lacquer is a very fast drying finish and can partially dry as you spray if you are too far from the surface. Whenever possible, try to spray on a horizontal surface rather than vertical.

·
Alan Sweet
163 Posts
WRT to spray lacquer..

I am interested in the performance of the spray lacquer on irregular surfaces. Will it dry faster enough not to pool up in areas. Like the recesses in gingerbread molding or decorative molding on a drawer. or in the recesses on an ornate wooden piece.

I have been thinking on trying Deft Clear Satin over a refinished piece which has lots of old ornate decorations.

Your opinion?

·
Registered
1,239 Posts