Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
broke rookie
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just watching new yankee workshop and norm was using a pad to set the work on while using his router instead of clamping. question is, is there a certain type of pad to use his looked like carpet underlayment, has anyone done this and how did it work. I admit to being a complete newb and any help would be great. it seems like a great idea.

ps it was the adirondak chair episode on youtube.

·
Registered
157 Posts
From time to time I just use a pad. Depends on depth of the cut and other things. When I do I use the stuff you can buy in rolls that goes on your cabinets. I find it holds good enough for something like a round over.

·
Registered
3,391 Posts
They sell special "router pads" that are the same material as the thick drawer liners (the ones with all the holes). Depending on what I'm working I'll use a pad (actually a roll of left over drawer liner from my automotive tool boxes) rather than clamps. Even when I'm using clamps, I put the pad under the piece I'm routing to protect it from being marred on my less than perfect work area. I'll also use the same pad when sanding. So it has multiple uses.

·
7,222 Posts
I have the special "router pad" which is about 3/16in solid rubber.

I only use this for sanding. After seeing the pieces move on the pad with sanding and my Random Orbit Sander, I would not trust this to hold a piece while routing. Too much movement - of the pad on the bench.

I recommend clamping any hand held routing.

·
Registered
4,801 Posts
Just be careful it doesn't stick out from under your piece. Routers and belt sanders like to grab it. DAMHIK ;-)

·
Registered
220 Posts