Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys.... My faceframes are complete!!... And now on to the boxes.... I am using 3/4 oak sides, tops and bottoms on my uppers.... B4 I cut anything I would like to know how u guys build them in reference to your faceframe.... I think I am going to put my boxes flush to the inside of the face frames.... This way I will always have a scribe but besides that what are the pros & cons? Also what about flush with the outside? Or just dead in the middle.... My FF are 2 1/4 wide...

·
Registered
834 Posts
Since I'm not sure if there is a right or wrong way I usually build my cabinets first then build the face frame.

When I build the face frame I make it flush with the outside of the cabinet.

·
Registered
834 Posts
Not sure of any pros or cons and since I'm self taught. I'm not really sure if I'm doing it right. For me it's easier to build the cabinet first then get the measurements for the face frame. I would rather screw up a small piece of hard wood then a bigger piece of plywood.

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
When I fabricated with face frames, I would make the outside edge flush with the cabinet. If I needed a scribe, I would let the face frame protrude past the end, and the floor of the cabinetry would also run through and line up with the edge of the face frame.

It's been a while since I've incorporated face frames on a cabinet. I only use them if the work has to match existing cabinets, where the face frame shows, or there's a decorative carving on them. If overlay doors are used, they don't get seen. IMO, they are a waste of time and money.

·
Registered
404 Posts
That depends as well on what hinges you use. Some wrap the inside of frame. My frames are 2.5" at top and 1.75 on the remaning sides.I awayls leave a 1/4" scribe, except on end cabinets which get a 3/4 scribe for the panel.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·