Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks. I am a lowly college student at Iowa State building a much nicer than average beer pong table. the top of the table (the playing surface) will be made of 1/4" birch plywood because I'm a cheap bastard and ping pong balls bounce nicely off of it.

I want to stain it with two tones, a deep reddish one and a lighter yellowish one. Rustoleum has pretty much the perfect shades, so that's who I am planning on using. I want most of the playing surface to be stained with the yellow shade while the words IOWA STATE are stained in the red.

I plan on cutting along a stencil into the plywood with an Xacto knife to help eliminate bleeding. Along with the obvious very careful application of painters tape and using a preconditioner.

I expect there to be a little bit of blotchiness, but I want to minimize it. Eliminating bleeding is more important to me.

Any and all advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
If you want crisp lines, I think stain or dye will be a problem. Anything that soaks into the wood is going to bleed along the wood fibers. Can you use paint instead? Something that sits on top rather than soaks in?

·
Registered
27,302 Posts
It would be easier if you cut the plywood as a inlay and stain the two different components a different color before assembly. If you have the means of spraying you could mask off the contrasting areas with a paint block tape such as frog tape and spray a water based dye on. It would have to be sprayed on with a very light misting or the dye would bleed under the tape anyway. Once that area has been stained sprayed seal the wood with a sealer or the finish you will be using. Then when the sealer is dry remove the tape and mask that area off and dye the rest of it in the same manor and seal it. Then the masking can be removed and the entire surface could be finished as normal.

·
Old School
24,017 Posts