Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
557 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is the second part of how to build a friction call (pot call) used in turkey hunting. In the first part I went through the steps on how to turn a call and now we are going to add our finish, sound board and playing surface.

The type of finish you use is really up to you. I don’t use sanding sealer but there is no reason not too if you like using it. I use a clear stain (Minwax) to bring out the color and grain without changing the wood too much. I use rattle can lacquer because I was a professional model builder for years and can spray that stuff like it came out of an airbrush. I am not a fan of wipe on poly but do like the spray on which gives me a better finish.

Here we go and folks this is really simple.

After the call is turned wipe it down to remove debris. I apply the clear stain to the inside and outside then let it sit for a few minutes. After a few minutes I wipe off the excess then let it dry for a few hours or overnight. I place the call upside down on whatever is handy then lightly spray the lacquer as I turn the piece to insure an even coat. After this sets up for a few minutes I spray it again. I repeat this as many times as each call needs it up to 6 coats. I don’t spray the inside.

To get a glass smooth finish I use professional grade emery boards (soft ones) to buff out the lacquer. I usually start with 600 grit and work my way up to 4000 to 12,000 grit. I buy mine at Sally’s Beauty Supply for under $2 each. They are washable and last quite awhile plus they are available in a wide range of grits.