Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have used many types of finish through the years including oils but this is my first time using Tung Oil (kitchen butcher block counter). I have applied at least 14 coats and some same areas show a flat sheen. I have tried sanding with 320 – 400 grit sandpaper and 0000 steel wool between coats and the same areas are still flat.
When I started I used some oil I already had on hand and began with 100% pure, but after a few coats I thought that maybe the oil was too old and also discovered that I should have thinned it a little so I purchased new Real Milk Paint Tung oil and citrus oil for thinning. I sanded with 220 and applied a thinned coat of the new thinned oil and after a few coats thinned switched to pure for about 6 coats.
I am thinking of beeswax to even the sheen? I also suspect that I may need to wait until the oil fully cures and then sand and add a few more coats? I was also thinking of a coat of phenolic varnish since it contains tung oil but am not sure if it is food safe. As I said, this is the first time I have used Tung oil so I stumbled somewhat. Any advice from the more experienced would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Tung Oil

I have never had a problem with tung oil. I use only polymerized oil and I have never thinned it. I also do not sand fine than 220. I apply coats 24 hrs. apart with no sanding between coats, The final 2-3 coats I use 0000 steel wool to apply the oil.
Your wood may have areas with more porosity allowing more oil to be absorbed effect on the gloss. Try applying more oil to these areas.
It is always best to use a test piece first as your project will be the test piece.
What kind of wood are you using and pictures would help.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3