Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, I'm not really a woodworker by trade, but have done some general purpose woodworking/machining in my line of work. I'm going to build myself a guitar speaker cabinet, and to reduce standing waves my idea is to shape the cabinet like a trapezoid, see pic below.

A guitar cabinet needs to be extremely structurally rigid for both sound purposes and practical usage - typically a 40-50 pound amp head sits on top of the cabinet. Most cabs are rectangular shaped and thus easy to join the sides, the trapezoid introduces some challenges. My question is, what are some joinery methods to ensure the strength of the joints of the sides?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I also thought about adding an additional reinforcement beam like this -

I apologize for seemingly spamming my own thread.

·
where's my table saw?
27,741 Posts
I think you've got it "nailed" Only one angle setting on the saw.
Your reinforcement panel may not work with the sound waves? I donno? Maybe on a sealed cabinet, not on a bass reflex if I recall. ;) bill

·
Registered
39 Posts
Standing Waves

The real key to eliminating standing waves is to make the cabinet shorter. That way the waves will have to sit.
Sorry Bad joke! :laughing:

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I think you've got it "nailed" Only one angle setting on the saw.
Your reinforcement panel may not work with the sound waves? I donno? Maybe on a sealed cabinet, not on a bass reflex if I recall. ;) bill

Nah, the reinforcement wouldn't be a panel, just two beams on each side. I'm not terribly sure what affect the beams have on sound waves though. BTW, I'm building a ported guitar cab, the two little circles on the right are ports.

·
where's my table saw?
27,741 Posts