Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

So I'm new to this, started building some transforming tables and really have hit a brick wall. First I'll describe the tables.

4 tables consisting of a 12"square center with 4 triangular leafs, making it a 17"square when all are opened.

When the 4 are combined, a 34" square dining table is created.

Here's the difficult part I'm struggling with....

When it's NOT together as the 34" sq, I would like 2 of the tables to be 22" tall end tables with their leafs folded down making 2, 12" square end tables. The other two would have their leafs opened and connect to make a 34x17" coffee table that sat 14" tall.

My issue obviously is with the adjustable heights. How can I take a 28" table leg, split it in half, and be able to smoothly and nicely rejoin them to be 28" or use them as 2 separate 14" legs????

Similarly, how can I add and remove 6" from a 28" leg simply and elegantly?

The reason for this whole project is because I live in an apartment with no room for this table, but room for the end tables n coffee table. The transformation would allow me to have it all.

THANKS!
`Danny

Attachments

·
Turning Wood Into Art
4,043 Posts
Interesting one. Am always into stuff like this. Some sketches of the various configurations might be useful. I have a couple of ideas but would like some more pics first. I hate converting from imperial but that is life

Dave The Turning Cowboy

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Concept

So here's the thing, the primary issue to start is just the legs. Therefore I don't really have any pictures to work with.

So.... primary question-> how can I have 2, 14" legs that connect to the underside of a table top, also come together to be one complete 28" leg. Now the two connections could be completely different, I'm not sure.

Basically how do I get
|_| |x|
|_| |x|

to become
|_|
|_|
|x|
|x|
|x|
|x|