Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks!

Well, a brief background - I have no training in any trades, well I'm a chef who is now a serving Police Officer, but, I do have a passion for woodwork. My grandfather was a cabinet maker and when he passed away I got some of his old wood working tools, which I like to try and put to use.

Recently my girlfriend bought a house where she saw this gorgeous big 8 to 12 seater oak dining table (not coming with the house unfortunately:thumbdown: ). It is my intention - as a surprise, to build a smaller version (max 4 seater) for her. I am able to source the European Oak (12%humidity) from a timber merchant here.

Can anyone advise - is this a huge project that I should possibly avoid?! Or is it doable!? Or should I just get down to the nearest department store and buy one:laughing: !? Also - is there a web source somewhere that I can obtain plans for different tables etc or am I best just to come up with an idea and consult a pro!?

Your help is much appreciated in this!!

Aus.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick reply. I take it pocket holes are easy to do - I see you can source some form of jig for doing them?!

Cheers

Aus

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Maybe a bit of a 'how long is a piece of string' type question :blink: but does anyone have any idea roughly how many man hours it would take to complete this (all going smoothly)? Also can anyone suggest any finishes for the final table?!

Your help is much appreciated!!

Aus

·
Forgotten but not gone
5,674 Posts
Based on your experience level, at least what your experience level seems to be, I would say this is not a good project for you to "learn" on. You should tackle some other simpler projects first IMO.

Building elegant chairs, even simple chairs is not simple, basic, woodworking.