Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone - this is my first post here. Hoping maybe I could get some tips. I'm a beginner at this. I decided to try to make an outdoor table that I will use for food prep. I'm basically copying a design someone else did that I saw online, which is using all construction grade 2x4s. This is not fine furniture by any means, so doesn't need to look perfect, but hoping I can get it to be relatively level and stay standing!

I started building this two days ago, and thought things were going well, but as I started assembling more of the pieces together, I realized despite my best efforts, things are not perfectly square, or level.

I'm pretty sure I understand the possible reasons why, but I'm interested in opinions of a) how can I correct at this point, or b) does it really matter for my use?

I think the first issue is that the lumber itself was not perfect - there are small bends and twists that start to reveal themselves once you start assembling. Second issue - I'm doing this on my basement floor, and I don't think that surface is really level. And thirdly, I may not have done things totally correctly.

I started out by building the frame of the top. I used right angle clamps, glue and screws for the joints. It was looking good, but by the time I got to the last corner, it wasn't very even - I think because of the lumber itself. I went ahead and attached it anyways.

Last night I started working on the legs. It was tricky because I wanted to leave a little lip at the top to lay down a plywood sheet, which I will later put some tiles on. The legs may not have been 100% square, but it is standing!

I attached photos of where I am now. I'm thinking once I put the cross braces in for the bottom shelf, it may bend the legs out a bit and correct some the issues.