Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The farther and farther I delve into woodworking (I am pretty new to the hobby) I realize I need more and more benches and carts and work surfaces. The latest project I've been working on is a bench for a drill press and woodworking vise (I've never had one before). I got the tools for Christmas and all I needed was another bench.

This design is from a plan from WOOD Magazine with a few modifications for my particular purposes. I am looking for any design additions that you notice I could add before I am at the point of no return. Keep in mind the stand is attached to casters (I am going for the "everything on wheels" approach to a shop) and also I have not attached the top yet. The top will have a hardwood trim all the way around that I don't have on yet and also a hardboard sacrificial top piece that can be replaced. I am looking for ideas on attaching levelers because I won't be moving it too often. I can't quite pin anything down that won't get in the way of the caster movement but I haven't thought long and hard about it. I am also thinking about adding edge banding on the plywood edges of the bottom and adjustable shelf. What do you think? Also, what do you guys do for a finish?

If I have any more questions I will ask them here and post more pics as I progress with the build.

Putting the Panels Together

Attaching Panels

Everything Glued, Screwed, and Bottom Shelf Attached

Adding Adjustable Shelf
You can change shelf placement by locating the cleats in different holes on the pegboard

Adding Feet For Casters

Casters Attached

Top Made
The top has been made however it is NOT attached to the table nor is it centered. It is just sitting there in this picture. I'm thinking 3/4" hardwood banding around the top and it will have replaceable hardboard on top of plywood. The hardboard is not on yet.

·
Registered
834 Posts