Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks.

Okay, you probably get these kinds of idiot questions all the time, but that's the kind of idiot I am. I'm new to Lathe work and hardly know where to start.

Some time back I bought a lathe from Sears, OOB, incomplete, and it took me several months to find all the missing parts and get it running. Not a bad lathe; electronic, continuous speed changes without a belt change. Pretty big and only talks back from time to time.

For Christmas, my girl friend let me buy a new set of lathe tools. I got the sixteen piece set by Hurricane. Did a lot of research and they seemed to come in at a good mid price point of decent quality. So far, with all that in hand, my WIFE has turned a beautiful rolling pin! I haven't been able to get out there when the weather allowed.

We live along the northern third of coastal Maine and when the shop cools off, NO amount of heat will make it a nice place to work; may have to wait for April.

So, assuming you experienced guys had my set up, except for the cold weather, how would you start out? I know the tools need to be sharpened and I'm actually pretty good at that. I've got a "One Way Wolverine," so sharpening is coming along nicely. Can you suggest books I need/want before I get started? What about projects. I don't have specific projects in mind. I'm enthralled by the turning process and can't wait to get into it.

Thanks for your guidance, in advance, and for putting up with an old codger that's having a mid life/end of life crisis and can't figure out what he wants to be when he grows up.

Jerry

·
where's my table saw?
28,591 Posts
somethin' ain't right here

so the GF bought you the tools but the WIFE turned a rolling pic?
is that to beat you with?:laughing::laughing::laughing:
You got some splainin' to do bud.... :eek:

·
Registered
588 Posts