Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, wondering if you small cabinet shop guys have ever turned down work because the size of the cabinet was too large?

I dont have any employees and Ive gotten used to manuevering things arround to make do but i just finished a job that was very difficult for me because of the size of cabinet. 6'Lx48Hx30"D.. 2 of those stack on top of eachother and another 18"Lx9'Hx30"D.

Im still learning this business and I enjoy the work but this was too much. had to buy 2 10' sheets and just handeling them was tough. Then I made a couple errors that cost me because I could only get 1 cut from a sheet being they were 30" wide. Transporting them I had to rent a trailor because they wouldnt fit in my 7' bed. This whole job has been like this and I understand now why sheets are 4x8 and cabinets are generally 23 1/4 deep or smaller. Do you guys ever try to take on a job like this by yourself? I now Im not.

·
Registered
21 Posts
I just finished building an Entertainment Center. The two display cabinets are 4'0" wide, 6'3" tall and 22" deep. The center cabinet is 5'9" wide, 6'9" tall and 25" deep. I built it all by my self. I did need a little help lifting it a couple of time. But for the most part I built all of it. I would do it again and I built it all at home. I posted a couple of pictures of it in my gallery if you are interested in seeing it.

Jim

·
Registered
313 Posts
I frequently build furniture larger than my shop can handle,
I just build them in multiple pieces.
I figure if I can't move them comfortably up my stairs
than I need to be able to break them into smaller components
that can be reassembled.
That makes it easier for my customers too.:icon_cool:

·
Forgotten but not gone
5,674 Posts