Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
5,031 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have to make a peppermill for our club demo next month, so I thought I would turn one this evening to see how much time it took. We only have an hour and a half for demo time. I bought this piece of wood last week at the local Woodcraft store. It was sitting on the closeout table at half price. It was a piece of canary wood, 3" x 3" x 13". It looked pretty shabby, as it was rough sawn and not planed and sealed like you would normally see. It ended up costing me around $10. The peppermill ended up being 12" tall, the camera seems to make everything look shorter. I was surprised to see the maroon streaks. I didn't expect much out of this blank. It just goes to show you don't judge a book by its cover seems to be true.
Mike Hawkins;)

Attachments

·
781 Posts
That is some pretty wood. I have never worked with that before. Wood always surprises me, either more color then I expected, or I start with a blank that look promising, only to find out the colors more muted on the inside. I still need to make one of these! I have all the stuff... just got other stuff on the list.

So how long did this take you?

·
Registered
5,031 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Kc,
I occasionally buy 1x pieces of canary wood for projects other than turning. The only ones I buy are the ones with the maroon stripes. I save them up until I find something special I want to make.
Mike Hawkins;)

·
HALL OF FAMER
8,374 Posts
Wow, you're definitely right about those maroon stripes. They look fantastic. I really like the top of this one. The shape is great. So, what's the bottom line Mike. Were you able to reach a stage of completion that was suitable for your 1 1/2 hour demonstration or are you going to leave your demonstratees hanging? :laughing:
Ken

·
Registered
5,031 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
DV and Ken,
I left the time out just to see if anybody asked. I should have known you guys don't miss a trick.