Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
so i've been given this chest from my parents who were tired of staring at it in their basement. I decided to strip the paint, sand it down, and re-stain it...just for a part time project. i've done a little bit of this before...maybe two or three little things - i am a beginner/amatuer.

i was surprised to see the 'graining' in this chest. Google is awesome, as i learned this is 'tiger maple' or curly maple....you can see why its called "tiger" !! sure looks like the back of one.

so, i'll post some pics of the project and comments and feedback would be great

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
i should have added the fact i originally started to sand this chest...but the varnish would gum up the sanding disks too fast !

so i switched to paint stripper, and 'poof' this dark pattern emerged (as seen in the 2nd pic)

I did read already, that you shouldnt sand down tiger maple (if thats what this is) as it will make the finish flat and lifeless....ooops,already sanded a bit of the top !!

again, any comments would be cool,, i'd like to keep posting pics of the progress !

·
Registered
85 Posts
I don't think its tiger maple but it looks like some jungle spiecies for sure. Is it a solid top or veneir. If it is venier it will have 1/4 inch strips of wood around the edges. If it is solid wood you could sand no prob. if It is venier you have to be careful not to sand through.

The drawer fronts are more likely to be solid wood.

·
Registered
97 Posts