Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As an Electrician by Trade, and a lifelong Woodworker, as I look at quality tools available for sale, many are three phase. I see some very nice Powermatic tools which the seller struggles to get sold, due to the limited number of persons with three phase electrical service. This type of service is normally found in large commercial, and industrial buildings.

My questions is: Does anyone here have any end user experience with a tool which has had a phase converter installed on it, to enable it to work in your shop?

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
I have a VFD on a Baldor motor for my lathe. This isn't a factory job, but rather someone did a fair amount of work to upgrade the lathe to a variable speed control. The VFD is an industrial GE unit, and the whole thing really works well. If you go over to OWWM a ton of guys over there use an RPC and couldn't be happier. In fact they claim that since the 3 phrase motor is so much more simple to work on having it with a convertor of some sort is far superior to a single phase motor.

·
Registered
26,968 Posts
As an Electrician by Trade, and a lifelong Woodworker, as I look at quality tools available for sale, many are three phase. I see some very nice Powermatic tools which the seller struggles to get sold, due to the limited number of persons with three phase electrical service. This type of service is normally found in large commercial, and industrial buildings.

My questions is: Does anyone here have any end user experience with a tool which has had a phase converter installed on it, to enable it to work in your shop?