Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok so you-tubing around and I come across this video on spline joints, so I give it a look...now we just got through looking at the kickback video on our forum and I see this guy who calls himself a professional doing the most dangerous way of making splines that i can think of, so I leave a comment and link to our kickback thread, guess I should have just kept my mouth (keyboard) shut...but jeez I am getting real tired of people who claim to be professional doing and showing people the most un-professional way to do things. Now I am no professional, not by a long shot, but I have been doing woodwork damn near all my life and I still got all my fingers, how come professional can't learn anything, or admit to being wrong, is it an ego thing. Here is the video (click on title to goto site), what do all think, am I wrong here..I didn't say anything about his jig, that's fine, and I will probably make one like it, just not the spline making part.

·
Registered
12,945 Posts
???????

You must have posted a different video then the one you wrote about. I saw nothing unsafe in that video.

George

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
???????

You must have posted a different video then the one you wrote about. I saw nothing unsafe in that video.

George
You don't think not using a blade splitter or guard of any kind standing directly behind the blade so you get smacked by the wood if kicks back
that ok, you don't think a slid with no fence would be safer. Not talking about when he used the jig, but when he cut the splines strips about 4 mins into the video. Ok guess I am wrong then, but I'll never make a cut like that on my table saw and my splitter is always on, even before I saw that kickback video.

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
You don't think not using a blade splitter or guard of any kind standing directly behind the blade so you get smacked by the wood if kicks back