Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Am thinking about starting a woodworking company. Any tips company name project ideas and ways to advertise

·
Registered
226 Posts
I am not a pro but I have thought about building a small side business. I think the trick is finding what you can do best that no one else in your area already does. I have been told I should go into cabinet making but I know of three major shops and six smaller shops already in my area. On the other hand I can swing a stick and never hit anybody that does furniture. I enjoy build furniture so that would probably be my thing. As far as marketing look for the best way to reach people who will be ready to pay top dollar for you work. You might try teaming up with local architects and interior design professionals. Many times these people are looking for the craftsmanship and uniqueness that you can't buy off the shelf. My last bit of advice is that you have a business plan together. Working in the food industry I have seen many talented cooks strike out on their own. The ones that are still in business know how to manage the business side of their operation and serve their customers but most importantly they can bring money to the bottom line.

·
Registered
2,775 Posts
Find out what people want. Not what you think they want.