Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,

I have some old teak furniture badly in need of restoration and after reading up some guides I used steelwool and soap to clean it and then sanded it down. Here are some pics after cleaning and sanding.http://imgur.com/a/hgegh

I have Watco Danish Oil in Neutral color and also a Poly. Would that be the best combination for this or do I need to add a stain as well? Also do I need to sand this down further with higher grit before applying danish oil?

This is my first time in wood finishing and I am just worried that I might screw up.

Thanks for looking :smile:

·
Registered
27,647 Posts
If you are going to put polyurethane on the table then you could skip the watco. It would do nothing for you unless it's a water based poly. I wouldn't recommend using water based poly on teak anyway. The wood has a natural wax in it and I don't believe the water based poly would adhere very well. The table kinda has a rustic look to it with the knots and dents so I think it would be fine to use an oil finish but I would use tung oil instead of watco. Watco isn't water resistant where tung oil is. Just use 100% tung oil. Some finishes are labeled tung oil finish but are thinned varnish with a little tung oil in it.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you all. Well I have been told it's teak.. It's been in the family for almost 70 years now and my grandfather who got it is no longer with us.

Is there anyway to check?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Why do you guys think it's not teak? Is it the lack of grains or the color? Is there anything I can do to check?

·
Registered
220 Posts
Try wiping it down with mineral spirits and take another pic while it's wet.

·
Registered
244 Posts
The teak that I'm used to seeing has more tight grain then that then that similar to oak but more wavy linear grain and not as tight. Maybe it is how it was sawn?