Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm designing an 11 ft tall freestanding cabinet and I want to make sure that it'll support it's own weight and the contents stored inside. It'll be constructed of 3/4 inch baltic ply-wood and each vertical section will be 3 feet wide. It's probable that the ceiling will not be able to support weight, so the bottom closet units will have to support the weight of the units above.

My question is will the side and back panels support the weight without distorting?

I'm a novice cabinet builder, so any advice is appreciated...

Thanks!
adam

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/6056/closetrv6.jpg

·
Forgotten but not gone
5,674 Posts
Welcome Adam.

It looks like from the picture that most of the top is supported by solid wood members is that true?

If not is this a frameless carcass? 3/4" baltic birch is plenty stout enough to support the upper units if the construction method is sound but it is hard to tell from the rendering just exactly what is going on. Except that those peeps need to get dressed. :laughing:

·
Registered
801 Posts
I'd probably dado in any of the top/bottom/fixed shelves possible. But the Baltic should support it. What's planned fo bieng styored in the top?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
since it's in the bedroom, it'll be just clothes up there probably. maybe some other stuff if I have room. chances are that I'll load it pretty full though, since I'm moving to a smaller apartment downtown.

I'm still in the design phase. Those vertical supports could be solid, but right now, I'm thinking of a 2" box made of the baltic cut at 45 degree angles so it looks solid and matches the finish the rest. If I think I might have strength problems, I may change them to solid wood or even aluminum for a contrast (I'm just not sure how I'd join the metal to the wood).