Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to woodworking, and will probably get another tool in the near future but until I figure out if this is really a hobby for me I don't want to buy all the tools I want.

Currently I have a full set of Dewalt cordless tools, along with a circular saw and a very nice Bosch router that my wife just bought me. The tools that I would want in the future (if space and money allow) are a jointer, planer, table saw and a router table. Drill press and band saw are probably on the list as well.

I have been thinking that I can get through most things with a router and circular saw by using a fence clamped onto the stock. The two tools I keep looking at are a router table and a table saw though. I think a table saw should be first on the list... is this the best approach?

For table saws I have done a ton of research and would like to buy used but I live in South Dakota so craigslist rarely has any and most of them are to far gone. For new ones I have looked at the Porter Cable (http://tinyurl.com/mre4to8) and the craftsman (http://tinyurl.com/ksy5ueu).

I am leaning towards the Craftsman one since I have read some bad things about the PC. The comparable Rigid one looks nice too but I don't have a Home Depot within 200 miles of me.

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
I am new to woodworking, and will probably get another tool in the near future but until I figure out if this is really a hobby for me I don't want to buy all the tools I want.

Currently I have a full set of Dewalt cordless tools, along with a circular saw and a very nice Bosch router that my wife just bought me. The tools that I would want in the future (if space and money allow) are a jointer, planer, table saw and a router table. Drill press and band saw are probably on the list as well.